Baseball, Women’s Hoops Lead Winners List at 2013 CAMMYS

2013 CAMMYS (photo by Will Bratton)
2013 CAMMYS (photo by Will Bratton)

Photos | Video | @Campbell_Camels

BUIES CREEK, N.C. – Campbell University athletics recognized both the athletic and academic achievements of its student-athletes at the second annual CAMMYS Saturday night at the John W. Pope Jr. Convocation Center.

The 2013 CAMMYS kicked off with a recognition of all senior student-athletes, followed by welcoming remarks from Director of Athletics Bob Roller, University President Dr. Jerry Wallace and Student-Athlete Advisory Committee President and senior football player Sam Eberwein prior to the ceremony.

The event was led by the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee, which consists of male and female student-athletes from CU’s 21 NCAA Division I intercollegiate athletics programs.

The evening showcased the best in Camel athletics over the last calendar year and was hosted by the “Voice of the Fighting Camels” Chris Hemeyer.

The CU baseball team took home five awards overall to lead the way, while football and women’s basketball were honored four times each.

Eberwein was named Mr. Campbell, while women’s golfer Teresa Urquizu was honored as Miss Campbell, the highlight awards of the night.

2012 All-American Michael Felton from the baseball team and multiple all-conference selection Tonisha Baker from women’s basketball took home Male and Female Athlete of the Year honors.

The CU baseball and women’s golf squads tied in the Team of the Year category. Women’s cross Country took home the Team GPA Award, owning an outstanding 3.47 team average.

Women’s basketball player Monique Spry, a redshirt junior, was the recipient of the Amanda Littlejohn Award, given to the CU student-athlete who is the most inspirational.

Baseball clinched both coaching awards for the year, with Greg Goff earning Head Coach of the Year, and the tandem of Justin Haire and Rick McCarty sharing Assistant Coach of the Year accolades after winning a school record 41 games last season.

2013 NCAA Wrestling Tournament qualifier Eric Montoya and 2012 Big South Co-Freshman of the Year Stephanie Jones from the softball team were named Male and Female Rookie of the Year.

There was a tie for Breakthrough Athlete of the Year with Isaac Scott from the football team and Kiera Gaines from the Lady Camel women’s basketball team sharing honors.

Ben McQuown from the CU baseball team garnered Play of the Year honors for his acrobatic catch in Campbell’s win over No. 18 North Carolina State last season, while the women’s basketball team registered Best Team Performance after their comeback victory over High Point in the 2013 Big South Tournament.

Junior Jayshawn Campbell earned Individual Performance of the Year after taking home Most Outstanding Track Performer at the 2013 Big South Track & Field Championships.

Senior Dominik Kaniewski from men’s tennis took home the Unsung Hero Award, while CU super fan Jonathan Boggs was named Fan of the Year.

Brandon Chandler from football and Kirsty Meyer from women’s soccer were recipients of the Iron Camel Award.

Josh Tate, equipment manager for the Fighting Camel football program, took the Support Staff award, while Craig Oates was named Athletic Trainer of the Year to round out the awards.

View a complete list of honorees below.

2013 CAMMYS Awards Winners:

Mr. Campbell
Sam Eberwein (Football) 

Miss Campbell
Teresa Urquizu (Women’s Golf) 

Outstanding Male Athlete
Michael Felton (Baseball) 

Outstanding Female Athlete
Tonisha Baker (Women’s Basketball)

Male Rookie of the Year
Eric Montoya (Wrestling)

Female Rookie of the Year
Stephanie Jones (Softball) 

Unsung Hero Award
Dominik Kaniewski (Men’s Tennis) 

Breakthrough Athlete of the Year (Tie)
Isaac Scott (Football)
Kiera Gaines (Women’s Basketball) 

Most Outstanding Team (Tie)
Women’s Golf 

Individual Performance of the Year
Jayshawn Campbell (Men’s Track & Field) 

Team Performance of the Year
Women’s Basketball – comeback win over High Point in Big South Tournament 

Head Coach of the Year
Greg Goff (Baseball - 2012)

Assistant Coach of the Year
Justin Haire & Rick McCarty (Baseball) 

Support Staff of the Year
Josh Tate (Football) 

Athletic Trainer of the Year
Craig Oates 

Play of the Year
Ben McQuown (Baseball) – Diving catch vs. NC State 

Iron Camel
Men: Brandon Chandler (Football)
Women: Kirsty Meyer (Women’s Soccer) 

Fan of the Year
Jonathan Boggs 

Team GPA
Women’s Cross Country – 3.47 GPA 

Amanda Littlejohn Award
Monique Spry (Women’s Basketball)