Graham Named Dick Howser Trophy Semifinalist

Brent Graham (photo by Bennett Scarborough)
Brent Graham (photo by Bennett Scarborough)

Dick Howser Trophy List | @Camel_Baseball

BUIES CREEK, N.C. – Campbell senior shortstop Brent Graham has been named a semifinalist for the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association Dick Howser Trophy, presented by Easton Foundations. The award, given to the top player in collegiate baseball, is based on two rounds of national voting.

Graham, a Portland, Ore. native, is also on the Brooks Robinson Award Watch List, given to the nation's top shortstop.

Graham owns a .391 average in 51 games this season, posting 52 runs scored and 35 RBI on 10 doubles, three triples and two home runs. He adds a .488 on-base percentage with 13 stolen bases on the year.

The senior leads the Big South in on-base percentage, while ranking second in batting, second in runs scored, fourth in slugging (.521), sixth in hits, sixth in walks, seventh in RBI and ninth in total bases among conference leaders.

On the national level, Graham also ranks 22nd in on-base percentage, 39th in batting, 45th in runs per game and 46th in runs scored.

Graham has notched 18 infield hits and 11 bunt singles on the year, while gathering a team-high 23 multi-hit games, including seven three-hit outings. Graham owns nine multi-RBI games, driving in a career-high six against in a win over Fairleigh Dickinson.

Graham has scored multiple runs 18 times, posting a season-best four twice in wins over VMI and High Point. He scored three and knocked in two in a win at UNC Asheville.

This is the 27th year of the Dick Howser Trophy presented by Easton Foundations. The finalists will be announced on Thursday, June 6. The 2013 award will be presented at TD Ameritrade Stadium in downtown Omaha, the home of the College World Series for the third year. The winner will be unveiled on Saturday, June 15 at 10 a.m. CT, the opening day of the 2013 CWS.

The Dick Howser Trophy, given in memory of the former Florida State University All-America shortstop and major league player and manager, who died of brain cancer in 1987, is regarded by many as college baseball's most prestigious award. Criteria for consideration of the trophy include performance on the field, leadership, moral character and courage, qualities that were exemplified by Dick Howser's life.

A Florida native, Howser was twice an All-America shortstop at Florida State (1957-58), then coached the Seminoles in 1979, after a career as a major league player and coach. After one year in the college ranks, Howser returned to the majors to manage the New York Yankees and Kansas City Royals and won the World Series with the Royals in 1985. The baseball stadium on the Florida State campus is named for Howser.

NCBWA membership includes writers, broadcasters and publicists. Designed to promote and publicize college baseball, it is the sport's only college media-related organization, founded in 1962.

The Howser Trophy was created in 1987, shortly after Howser's death. Previous winners of the Howser Trophy are Mike Fiore, Miami, 1987; Robin Ventura, Oklahoma State, 1988; Scott Bryant, Texas, 1989; Alex Fernandez, Miami-Dade Community College South, 1990; Frank Rodriguez, Howard College (Texas), 1991; Brooks Kieschnick, Texas, 1992 and 1993; Jason Varitek, Georgia Tech, 1994; Todd Helton, Tennessee, 1995; Kris Benson, Clemson, 1996; J. D. Drew, Florida State, 1997; Eddy Furniss, LSU, 1998; Jason Jennings, Baylor, 1999; Mark Teixeira, Georgia Tech, 2000; Mark Prior, P, USC, 2001, Khalil Greene, SS, Clemson, 2002; Rickey Weeks, 2B, Southern U., 2003; Jered Weaver, P, Long Beach State, 2004; Alex Gordon, 3B, Nebraska, 2005; Brad Lincoln, P/DH, Houston, 2006; David Price, P, Vanderbilt, 2007; Buster Posey, C, Florida State, 2008; Stephen Strasburg, P, San Diego State, 2009; Anthony Rendon, 3B, Rice, 2010; Taylor Jungmann, P, Texas, 2011 and Mike Zunino, C, Florida in 2012.