Baseball Captures Regular Season Conference Title, Earn No. 1 Seed in Next Week's Big South Championships

Campbell Baseball (photo by Bennett Scarborough)
Campbell Baseball (photo by Bennett Scarborough)

Big South | BSC Championships Printable Bracket | @Camel_Baseball

CHARLOTTE, N.C. – No. 28 Campbell captured the 2013 Big South Baseball Regular Season Title with its North Division Championship earning the No. 1 seed in next week's Big South Baseball Championship. Campbell finished the season with a 19-5 Big South record.

The divisional crown is Campbell's first since 1987, and third overall. The Camels, who finished the regular season with a 46-9 overall record, posting school records in total, conference and home wins, were the No. 1 seed in the 1986 Big South Tournament.

Coastal Carolina won the Big South's South Division Championship to earn the No. 2 seed in the Big South Championship. The Chanticleers finished the season with an 18-6 Big South record. High Point earned the No. 3 seed with a 15-9 record in League play and Radford finished at No. 4 with a 14-10 conference mark.

Liberty picked up the No. 5 seed with its 13-11 Big South record as Gardner-Webb's 12-11 record was good for No. 6.  Longwood garnered the No. 7 slot as it finished the Big South season at 12-12. Charleston Southern rounds out the seeds at No. 8 with an 11-13 record in conference action.

The 2013 Big South Baseball Championship features the top eight teams in the league regardless of division and will be played on the campus of Liberty University in Lynchburg, Va. The tournament begins on Tuesday, May 21 and ends with the championship game on May 25.  

The championship will air on the Big South Network, with the winner take all championship game airing exclusively on ESPN3. The Big South's Tournament champion receives an automatic bid to the NCAA Baseball Championship. The conference championship schedule is as follows:

Tuesday, May 21
Game 1: #2 Coastal Carolina vs. #7 Longwood, 9:30am
Game 2: #3 High Point vs. #6 Gardner-Webb, 45 minutes after conclusion of Game 1 
Game 3: #1 Campbell vs. #8 Charleston Southern, 4:30pm
Game 4: #4 Radford vs. #5 Liberty, 45 minutes after conclusion of Game 3

Wednesday, May 22
Game 5: Loser Game 1 vs. Loser Game 2, 9:30am
Game 6: Loser Game 3 vs. Loser Game 4, 45 minutes after conclusion of Game 5
Game 7: Winner Game 1 vs. Winner Game 2, 4:30pm
Game 8: Winner Game 3 vs. Winner Game 4, 45 minutes after conclusion of Game 7

Thursday, May 23
Game 9: Winner Game 5 vs. Loser Game 7, 3:00pm 
Game 10: Winner Game 6 vs. Loser Game 8, 45 minutes after conclusion of Game 9

Friday, May 24
Game 11: Winner Game 8 vs. Winner Game 9, 10:00am
Game 12: Winner Game 7 vs. Winner Game 10, 45 minutes after conclusion of Game 11
Game 13: if necessary, 5:00pm
Game 14: if necessary, 45 minutes after conclusion of Game 13

Saturday, May 25 - Championship Game
TBA vs. TBA, 4:00pm (TV: ESPN3)