Nine Camels Earn All-Big South Honors; Thompson Named Pitcher, Goff Coach of the Year

Campbell 2013 All-Big South award winners
Campbell 2013 All-Big South award winners

LYNCHBURG, VA. – Campbell junior Ryan Thompson was named Pitcher of the Year and Greg Goff was named Coach of the Year, leading nine Camels on Big South all-league teams.

Thompson, also First Team All-Big South as a relief pitcher, was joined by Ben McQuown (outfield), Michael Felton (second base) Elijah Trail (third base) and Ryan Mattes (starting pitcher) on the conference's First Team.

Four Camels also made Second Team All-Big South, including Clayton Brown (outfield), Brent Graham (shortstop), David Olson (designated hitter) and Heath Bowers (starting pitcher).

Olson was also named to the Big South's All-Academic team.

Campbell's nine first and second team honorees by far surpasses a season high for the program. Four Camels have been all-league selections three times, including 2012, 2006 and 1988.

Thompson is the first Campbell pitcher to be named his conference's pitcher of the year. Goff is the third Campbell head coach to earn coach of the year accolades after Chip Smith in 2000 (Atlantic Sun Coach of the Year) and Cal Koonce in 1986 (Big South).

VMI senior outfielder Rob Dickinson was been voted 2013 Big South Player of the Year, while Coastal Carolina pitcher Seth Lamando the League's Freshman of the Year. Justin Creel of Coastal Carolina and Brad Zebedis of Presbyterian College were voted Co-Scholar-Athletes of the Year by the League's sports information directors.

Big South all-conference teams were voted on by the league's head coaches. Honors were announced this evening at the baseball awards banquet held at the club room of the Williams Stadium Tower on the campus of Liberty University.

Thompson an 8-0 record and nine saves on the season, adding a 0.82 ERA. The junior righthander surrendered only six earned runs during the regular season, owning a streak of 29 1/3 innings without a run allowed from April 5 until May 18.

Goff has guided the Camels to back to back 40-win seasons, including a school record 46 this season. The Camels' 31 home and 19 Big South wins are also school records. Campbell recently broke program records for sacrifice flies (40) and stolen bases (121), and have several other marks in sight.

Campbell, ranked as high as 24th nationally, earned the top seed in the Big South Championships, collecting the league's North Division title. Top-seeded Campbell begins 2013 Big South Championships play Tuesday at 4:30 p.m., taking on No. 8 Charleston Southern at the Liberty Baseball Stadium in Lynchburg, Va.

The divisional crown is Campbell's first since 1987, and third overall. The Camels, who finished the regular season with a 46-9 overall record, posting school records in total, conference and home wins, were the No. 1 seed in the 1986 Big South Tournament.

Felton has hit .368 with 49 RBI and 48 runs scored on the season, leading the team in batting in Big South games with a .372 average in conference play. Felton, a 2013 Senior CLASS Award Candidate and a finalist for the TD Ameritrade Fan's Choice Award, was named NCBWA Preseason All-American and Big South Preseason Co-Player of the Year. He owns a team-high 26 multi-hit games with 11 multi-RBI games.

McQuown, the nation's leader in stolen bases with a school record 49, posts a .332 average with 62 runs scored. The senior also ranks among the Big South's top five in runs, hits, triples, total bases and walks, scoring multiple runs in 20 different games.

Trail hits .270 with seven homers and leads the Big South with 50 RBI. The junior gathered 14 multi-hit games, a team-high 13 multi-RBI games, and reached base in each of his first 34 games. He ranks second in sacrifice flies nationally, collecting a team-high 21 extra base hits.

Mattes owns a 7-3 record with a 2.14 ERA, ranking among Big South leaders in games started, innings pitched, wins, ERA and strikeouts. He was named Big South Pitcher of the Week (2/18) after picking up a win with six strikeouts in eight innings over Eastern Michigan to start the season. The senior ranks third in appearances (83), third in saves (11), seventh in innings pitched (222.1) and ninth in wins (14) on the CU career charts.

Brent Graham, a NCBWA Dick Howser Trophy semifinalist and Brooks Robinson Award (nation's top shortstop) Watch List honoree, leads the Big South in on-base percentage, while ranking second in batting, second in runs scored and fourth in slugging percentage among conference leaders. The senior has notched 19 infield hits and 11 bunt singles on the year. Graham posts a .392 average with 55 runs and 36 RBI

Olson, also a Second Team All-Big South honoree last season, bats .361 with 44 runs and 37 knocked in. Olson also picked up Big South All-Academic team honor at the 2013 banquet, while collecting CoSIDA Academic All-District 3 honors. He has been named to John Olerud Two-Way Player of the Year Watch List, and ranks second in on-base percentage. The senior also owns a 3-0 record with three saves and a 1.71 ERA on the mound.

Brown, a junior from Seattle, Wash., owns a team-best .427 batting average, collecting 14 multi-hit games and five multi-RBI games this season. Brown owned a season-best nine game hitting streak, and reached base in 29 consecutive games.

Bowers is 9-0 with a 1.71 ERA, posting a team-best 76 strikeouts. He was named Big South Pitcher of the Week (4/15) after a complete game shutout win over Longwood, striking out eight. The sophomore owns nine quality starts on the year, and has helped CU top ERA in the Big South.

2013 Big South Conference Baseball Award Winners

First-Team All-Conference
OF: Rob Dickinson, VMI
OF: Bobby Ison, Charleston Southern
OF: Ben McQuown, Campbell
1B: Spencer Angelis, High Point
2B: Michael Felton, Campbell
3B: Elijah Trail, Campbell (tie)
3B: Alex Owens, Longwood (tie)
SS: Jeff Kemp, Radford
C: Trey Wimmer. Liberty
DH: Zack Hagaman, Charleston Southern
SP: Ryan Mattes, Campbell
SP: Ben Smith, Coastal Carolina
SP: Matt Fraudin, Gardner-Webb
RP: Ryan Thompson, Campbell

Second Team All-Conference
OF: Jacob May, Coastal Carolina
OF: Ryan Retz, High Point
OF: Clayton Brown, Campbell
1B: Brad Zebedis, Presbyterian College
2B: Bryan Aanderud, Liberty
3B: Chad Smith, Winthrop
SS: Brent Graham, Campbell
C: Will Remillard, Coastal Carolina (tie)
C: Matt Winn, VMI (tie)
DH: David Olson, Campbell
SP: Jacob Newberry, High Point
SP: Heath Bowers, Campbell
SP: Tory Schroff, Charleston Southern
RP: Ryan Connolly, Coastal Carolina

All-Academic Team
David Olson, Campbell
Alex Tomasovich, Charleston Southern
Justin Creel, Coastal Carolina
Andrew Barnett, Gardner-Webb
Will Resnik, High Point
Trey Lambert, Liberty
Brandon Vick, Longwood
Brad Zebedis, Presbyterian College
Tyler Costello, Radford
Dillon Tabar, UNC Asheville
Drew Bryan, VMI
Max Vogel, Winthrop

Player of the Year
Rob Dickinson, OF, VMI

Pitcher of the Year
Ryan Thompson, RP, Campbell

Freshman of the Year
Seth Lamando, RHP, Coastal Carolina

Co-Scholar-Athletes of the Year
Justin Creel, Coastal Carolina
Brad Zebedis, Presbyterian College

Coach of the Year
Greg Goff, Campbell