Top-Seeded Camels to Face No. 5 Liberty in Big South Championship Game Saturday on ESPN3

CU head coach Greg Goff (Big South Sports)
CU head coach Greg Goff (Big South Sports)

ESPN3 | Official Tournament Page | Game Notes | @Camel_Baseball

LYNCHBURG, VA. – Top-seeded Campbell will take on No. 5 Liberty Saturday at 4 p.m. in the 2013 Big South Championship game.

The winner take all championship game will be broadcast on ESPN3 (watch live here) from Liberty Baseball Stadium.

The Camels are 3-0 in the tournament, defeating Charleston Southern 4-0 on Tuesday, Radford 4-3 on Wednesday and Longwood 8-6 Friday to earn the championship game berth. Campbell is 49-9 on the season and has won 12 games in a row, a season best.

The 31-27 Flames took the long rout to the Saturday's title game, falling in their opener 6-3 to Radford before reeling off four in a row with 2-1, 3-2, 9-8 and 8-0 victories over Charleston Southern, Radford and Coastal Carolina twice.

Saturday will be Campbell's third Big South Championship game appearance (1985, '88, '90). The Camels' last conference title game appearance came in 2000 as a member of the Atlantic Sun. CU owns two Big South Conference championships, winning the tournament in 1988 and 1990.

Michael Felton leads the Camels, hitting .373 with 53 RBI and 49 runs scored, while Brent Graham posts a .382 average, 56 runs and 37 RBI. David Olson also bats .349 with 45 runs and 37 knocked in, while Elijah Trail hits .275 with seven homers and 50 RBI.

Ben McQuown posts a .330 average with 65 runs scored to go along with 54 stolen bases. The senior, who set the CU single season stolen base record earlier this season, broke the program's career record with his 81st swipe on Friday, passing Brandon Scott's mark of 80 (2005-08).

On the mound, Ryan Mattes owns an 8-3 record with a 1.95 ERA and Heath Bowers is 9-0 with a 1.69 ERA, posting a team-best 80 strikeouts. Ryan Thompson also owns a 9-0 record with 10 saves and a 0.89 ERA.

During the Camels' three tournament games, Felton owns a .455 average with four RBI and a run scored, while Nick Ray hits .500 with two knocked in, a homer and a double. Will Albertson adds three RBI with two runs scored and a .364 average.

Leading Liberty is Bryan Aanderud with a .311 clip, adding 34 RBI, while Trey Wimmer hits .304 with 35 driven in. Danny Grauer also bats .285 with seven home runs and 40 RBI. Carson Herndon owns a 2.73 ERA with a 3-5 record. Brooks Roy and Trey Lambert own seven wins apiece.

The Big South's tournament champion receives an automatic bid to the NCAA Baseball Championship.