Camels Fall at Liberty in Big South Title Game 2-1

Nick Ray (photo by Todd Drexler)
Nick Ray (photo by Todd Drexler)

LYNCHBURG, VA. – Ashton Perritt notched the go-ahead RBI single in the top of the ninth and registered his fourth save of the 2013 Big South Championships to lead Liberty past top-seeded Campbell 2-1 Saturday in the league's title game.

Liberty improves to 34-27 overall with the win earning the Big South's automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament, while the Camels fall to 49-10, ending a 12 game winning streak.

Campbell jumped on the board in the first, loading the bases with one out before Elijah Trail's RBI fielder's choice scored Brent Graham, who reached on an error.

In the top of the third, Dalton Britt led off with a solo home run to right, knotting the game at 1-all.

Liberty threatened in the fourth and fifth, loading the bases before Ryan Mattes got out of the jam with a fly out and a groundout.

In the ninth, Perritt's single through the left side scored Alex Close, who reached on a leadoff error, giving the Flames the lead.

Michael DeLucia's two-out hit gave the Camels' their only baserunner in their final at-bat.

Perritt went 3-for-5 in the win, and was named tournament MVP, also registering the save after striking out two and allowing a hit in the ninth. Trey Wimmer and Bryan Aanderud also collected two hits each for LU.

Josh Richardson earned the win, going eight innings with one unearned run on five hits with a strikeout and a walk to improve to 3-4 on the year. The save was Perritt's ninth.

Ryan Thompson was charged with his first loss of the season, falling to 9-1 after allowing an unearned run on two hits in an inning of work. CU starter Ryan Mattes went five innings, surrendering a run on five hits with five strikeouts and three walks.

Logan Self allowed a hit while striking out two in 2 2/3 innings. David Olson struck out his only batter.

Nick Ray led Campbell with two hits.

From Campbell, Michael Felton and Ryan Thompson were named all-tournament.

The Camels went 3-1 in the tournament, defeating Charleston Southern 4-0 on Tuesday, Radford 4-3 on Wednesday and Longwood 8-6 Friday before the championship game defeat.

The Flames took the long rout to the Saturday's title game, falling in their opener 6-3 to Radford before reeling off four in a row with 2-1, 3-2, 9-8 and 8-0 victories over Charleston Southern, Radford and Coastal Carolina twice.

Saturday marked Campbell's fourth Big South Championship game appearance (1985, '88, '90, 2013). The Camels' last conference title game appearance came in 2000 as a member of the Atlantic Sun. CU owns two Big South Conference championships, winning the tournament in 1988 and 1990.

Big South 2013 All-Tournament Team
INF – Michael Felton, Campbell
INF – Dalton Britt, Liberty
INF – Jake Kimble, Liberty
INF – Matt Dickason, Longwood
OF – Alex Buccilli, Coastal Carolina
OF – Colton Konvicka, Longwood
OF – Justin Sizemore, Liberty
C – Trey Wimmer, Liberty
P – Ryan Thompson, Campbell
P – Blake Fulghum, Liberty
DH – Ted Blackman, Coastal Carolina
UTL – Ashton Perritt, Liberty

MVP – Ashton Perritt, Liberty