Nine Camels collect NCCSIA All-State accolades

Michael DeLucia (photo by Bennett Scarborough)
Michael DeLucia (photo by Bennett Scarborough)


BUIES CREEK, N.C. – Nine members of Campbell's record setting 2013 squad have been named to North Carolina Collegiate Sports Information Association's University Division All-State baseball teams, announced today by the organization.

Seven Camels earned NCCSIA First Team All-State honors, while two made the Second Team list.

Heath Bowers and Ryan Mattes accounted for the first team's starting pitchers, while Ryan Thompson was named first team as a reliever. Michael DeLucia and Michael Felton also made NC All-State at catcher and infield, while Ben McQuown and David Olson made the first team at the outfield and designated hitter positions.

Brent Graham was named a second team infielder, while Clayton Brown was named a second team outfielder.

Joining the seven Camels on the NCCSIA All-State First Team are reliever Drew Reynolds (East Carolina), infielders Tyler White (Western Carolina), Ryan Kinsella (Elon) and Kelvin Freeman (North Carolina A&T), with Christian Wolfe (UNC Greensboro) and Justin Seager (Charlotte) in the outfield.

Rounding out the second team were starting pitchers Jeremy Null (Western Carolina) and Brock Hudgens (Charlotte), relief pitchers Joe Goodman (High Point) and Preston Hatcher (Western Carolina), catchers Josh Spano (High Point) and Alex Swim (Elon), infielders Aaron Attaway (Western Carolina), Luke Tendler (North Carolina A&T) and Chase McDonald (East Carolina), outfielders Ryan Retz (High Point) and Julian Ridings (Western Carolina) and designated hitter Drew Reynolds (East Carolina).

Nominees were submitted by North Carolina sports information professionals and voted on by the NCCSIA members.

Founded in 2002, The North Carolina Collegiate Sports Information Association (NCCSIA) is comprised of sports information professionals from NCAA Division I, II, III, NAIA and independent institutions from the state of North Carolina. The purpose of the organization is to promote collegiate athletics at all schools. Membership is open to anyone affiliated with a college, university or conference located in North Carolina, and whose area of responsibility lies within sports information.

NCCSIA selects all-state teams in the University (Division I) and College (Division II, III, NAIA) divisions for men's and women's basketball, men's and women's soccer, volleyball, softball and baseball.

The Camels finished 2013 49-10, winning the Big South's North Division Championship and runner-up in the league's championship game. A school record nine Camels were named All-Big South, including Thompson as the conference's Pitcher of the Year, and Greg Goff as the Coach of the Year.

Four Camels have racked up All-America accolades this season, led by McQuown (Baseball America, NCBWA) and Thompson (Louisville Slugger, ABCA), with two each. Graham (College Sports Madness) and Olson (CoSIDA Academic All-America) also earned national honors.

A record three Camels were named to the ABCA's Atlantic All-Region team last week, including Thompson and Felton, who was named All-American as a junior in 2012, earning First Team accolades. Bowers also picked up a Second Team nod.

NCCSIA Baseball University Division All-State First Team
SP: Heath Bowers, So., Campbell University
SP: Ryan Mattes, Sr., Campbell University
RP: Ryan Thompson, Jr., Campbell University
RP: Drew Reynolds, Jr., East Carolina University
C: Michael DeLucia, Sr., Campbell University
IF: Michael Felton, Sr., Campbell University
IF: Tyler White, Sr., Western Carolina University
IF: Ryan Kinsella, Jr., Elon University
IF: Kelvin Freeman, Sr., North Carolina A&T University
OF: Christian Wolfe, Sr., UNC Greensboro
OF: Ben McQuown, Sr., Campbell University
OF: Justin Seager, Jr., Charlotte
DH: David Olson, Sr., Campbell University

NCCSIA Baseball University Division All-State Second Team
SP: Jeremy Null, So., Western Carolina University
SP: Brock Hudgens, Jr., Charlotte
RP: Joe Goodman, So., High Point University
RP: Preston Hatcher, Sr., Western Carolina University
C: Josh Spano, So., High Point University
C: Alex Swim, Sr., Elon University
IF: Aaron Attaway, Jr., Western Carolina University
IF: Luke Tendler, Jr., North Carolina A&T University
IF: Brent Graham, Sr., Campbell University
IF: Chase McDonald, Jr., East Carolina University
OF: Clayton Brown, Jr., Campbell University
OF: Ryan Retz, Sr., High Point University
OF: Julian Ridings, Jr., Western Carolina University
DH: Drew Reynolds, Jr., East Carolina University