Lutz earns spot on 2013 CFPA Watch List

Adam Lutz (photo by Bennett Scarborough)
Adam Lutz (photo by Bennett Scarborough)

Complete CFPA Watch List | @CampbellFB

CHARLOTTE, N.C. – Campbell's Adam Lutz has been named to the watch list for the 2013 CFPA Punter Award, presented by the College Football Performance Awards, the largest awards organization in D-I college football. The preliminary watch list highlights 32 returning performers, vying for the top individual punter award in the Football Championship Subdivision.

"Congratulations to Adam Lutz on earning a spot on the 2013 CFPA Watch List," said CFPA Executive Director Brad Smith. "Lutz will be one of the Pioneer Football League's top special teams players to watch in 2013."

Lutz was a Second Team All-Pioneer Football League selection as a sophomore in 2012, posting a 40.4 per kick average, while also handling the Camels' kickoff duties. The Waxhaw, N.C. native's punt average rated second in the PFL, just behind Valparaiso's Greg Wood at 40.9. Lutz also registered the league's second best yardage at 2,705 and number of punts with 67.

Lutz's long punt of 68 yards was the best in the PFL this season. The sophomore finished the year with 17 punts inside the 20, one shy of the school record. He forced 13 fair catches and booted 50+ yard punts 10 times on the year. Lutz, the Camels' first all-league punter in school history, was also named to the PFL's second team all-conference list by College Sports Madness.

All CFPA recipients are selected exclusively based upon objective scientific rankings of the extent to which individual players increase the overall effectiveness of their teams. All players are eligible for awards at their respective positions; players are not preemptively eliminated from consideration.

More than 130 CFPA recipients have signed professional contracts, and twenty-one have been first-round NFL Draft selections. CFPA recipients performing as NFL punters include: Bryan Anger (California), Sam Martin (Appalachian State), Chas Henry (Florida), Drew Butler (Georgia), Shawn Powell (Florida State), Quinn Sharp (Oklahoma State), Brandon McManus (Temple), and Patrick Murray (Fordham).

Last season, Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel earned the 2012 CFPA National Performer of the Year Trophy, while Harvard quarterback Colton Chapple earned the 2012 CFPA FCS National Performer of the Year Trophy. Multiple award presentations were broadcast live nationally on ESPN, CBS, Fox Sports, Big Ten Network, Pac 12 Network, as well as internationally on BYUtv.

The full list of 2013 recipients, including the 2013 CFPA FCS Awards, will be announced on January 8, 2014.

For more information, visit the Official CFPA Website ( Follow CFPA on Twitter @CFPerformance.