Camels picked eighth in PFL Coaches Poll

Isaac Scott
(Bennett Scarborough photo)
Isaac Scott (Bennett Scarborough photo)

PFL Coaches Poll | @GoCamelsFB

BUIES CREEK, N.C. – Campbell has been picked to finish eighth in the 2013 Pioneer Football League Coaches Poll, announced today by the conference office.

San Diego, which has won a share of the last two PFL regular season titles, was picked to win the 2013 crown, with an automatic bid into the now 24-team 2013 NCAA Division I Football Championship on the line for the first time in the conference's history.

USD received five of a possible 12 first-place votes and 111 of a maximum 121 points. Butler was ranked second by one point after receiving four first-place votes. Drake and Jacksonville were picked to finish tied for third with 99 points, receiving one and two first-place votes, respectively.

Dayton (5th, 85 points), Marist (6th, 67 points) and Morehead State (7th, 65 points) take slots 5-7.

Campbell (8th, 49 points), Davidson (9th, 42) and Valparaiso (10th, 32) occupy the poll's next three spots, while newcomers Mercer (11th, 20) and Stetson (12th, 13) round out the 12-team poll.

The 2013 Preseason All-PFL team will be announced tomorrow.

The Camels return 10 offensive and six defensive starters from last season, and begin play under new head coach Mike Minter this season.

Campbell returns senior quarterback Dakota Wolf after leading all PFL signal callers, and finishing third overall, with 617 rushing yards last season (1,418 total offensive yards). Defensively, nine members of the Fighting Camels finished 2012 ranked among the PFL's top-50 in tackles. Six of those players return in 2013, including junior defensive lineman Isaac Scott (60 tackles, 12.0 TFL and 5.5 sacks).

Campbell announced Minter as its second head modern era football coach on November 27. Minter officially announced his first coaching staff on Dec. 20.

The 2013 season will begin on Aug. 31 at Charlotte. The team's six-game home schedule will start with UVa.-Wise on Sept. 7 at 6 p.m.