43 Camels named to PFL Academic Honor Roll

(Will Bratton photo)
(Will Bratton photo)

BUIES CREEK, N.C. – Campbell has placed 43 student-athletes on the Pioneer Football League's 2015 Academic Honor Roll.

The PFL recognized a record 616 total student-athletes from its 11 member institutions to the 2015 PFL Academic Honor Roll. Campbell's 53 honorees are the second-highest in program history, falling just short of 2011's 56. After seeing 47 on its 2014 list, Campbell was one of seven PFL programs to increase its total from a year ago.

Click here for the full list of PFL Academic Honor Roll list.

PFL athletic directors and coaches established the honor roll as a way to recognize the league's outstanding student-athletes. The academic honor roll consists of student-athletes who participated in football at member institutions during the fall semester and posted a 3.0 grade-point average or higher during the semester while enrolled full-time in accordance with NCAA rules.

Redshirt junior kicker James Blackman, redshirt junior linebacker Scott Miller and redshirt senior punter Jarrett Ozimek topped the list as four-time recipients.

Mitchell Brown, Andrew Franklin, Thomas Hartshorn, Ethan Pierson and Jerry Cooper made the PFL Academic Honor Roll for the third time (5 recipients), while Daniel Bostick, Rogers Clark, Andy Eddins, Colin Gary, Josh Hutto, DJ Jones, Geoffrey Leins, Matt Price, Trey Sanders, Trevor Sheets, Brian Stryffeler, Zane Weekman and Michael Wooten were honored for a second time (13) in their careers.

First time honorees (22) include Bryan Bailey, Marius Cooper, Aaron Dobbins, Dontel Dunston, Joe Fishpaw, Austin Fleming, Gabe Holmes, Syd Holt, Jonathan Jeffries, Akile Jones, Cameron Kelshaw, Josh Manley, Joe Pesce, Keilin Rayner, Zach Roderick, Jack Ryan, Josh Salois, Mason Sledge, Daniel Smith, Campbell Tarpey, Levi Wiggins and Gerald Wilkes.

Campbell ranked third in the PFL in rushing offense in 2016, standing 19th nationally at 209 yards per game, as well as 17th in the country in total defense (322.1 yards per game) under fourth year head coach Mike Minter.

Bryan Bailey, RJr., Criminal Justice
James Blackman, RJr., Trust & Wealth Management
Daniel Bostick, Sr., Exercise Sport Science
Mitchell Brown, Jr., Biology Pre Med
Rogers Clark, RSr., Trust & Wealth Management
Jerry Cooper, Jr., Exercise Sport Science
Marius Cooper, Fr., Accounting
Aaron Dobbins, Fr., Mechanical Engineering
Dontel Dunston, Fr., Political Science/Pre-Law
Andy Eddins, RSo., Exercise Sport Science
Joe Fishpaw, Fr., Trust & Wealth Management
Austin Fleming, Sr., Sport Management
Andrew Franklin, RJr., History Prelaw
Colin Gary, RFr., Business Administration
Thomas Hartshorn, RSo., Business Administration
Gabe Holmes, Fr., Undecided
Syd Holt, RSr., Mass Communication
Josh Hutto, RJr., Homeland Security
Jonathan Jeffries, Fr., Business Administration
Akile Jones, RSr., Sport Management
DJ Jones, RSr., Sport Management
Cameron Kelshaw, Fr., Political Science/Pre-Law
Geoffrey Leins, RSo., Sport Management
Josh Manley, RSr., Master of Education
Scott Miller, RJr., Exercise Sport Science
Jarrett Ozimek, RSr., Masters Business Administration
Joe Pesce, Jr., Political Science/Pre-Law
Ethan Pierson, RSo., Kinesiology/Physical Therapy
Matt Price, RFr., Exercise Sport Science
Keilin Rayner, RSr., Masters Business Administration
Zach Roderick, Fr., Business Administration
Jack Ryan, RSo., Trust & Wealth Management
Josh Salois, Fr., Kinesiology/Physical Therapy
Trey Sanders, RSo., Athletic Training
Trevor Sheets, RJr., Trust & Wealth Management
Mason Sledge, RSr., Master Of Education
Daniel Smith, Fr., Undecided
Brian Stryffeler, RJr., Exercise Sport Science
Campbell Tarpey, Fr., Business Administration
Zane Weekman, RSo., History/Teacher Licensure
Levi Wiggins, Fr., Trust & Wealth Management
Gerald Wilkes, RFr., Kinesiology/Physical Therapy
Michael Wooten, RFr., Kinesiology