Oklahoma OK! Campbell receives at-large berth; seeded 12th in NCAA Central Regional

Oklahoma OK!  Campbell receives at-large berth; seeded 12th in NCAA Central Regional
2012-13 Campbell Women's Golf Front (left-right): Kaylin Yost, Teresa Urquizu, Tahnia Ravnjak, Brooke Bellomy. Back: Mary-Katelyn Holanek, Babette Lemberger, Ali Prazak, Lisbeth Brooks, Maria Jose Benavides.

After winning six tournaments in its first 11 events, Campbell University has been seeded 12th in the NCAA Central Regional women's golf championship.

The Central regional will be played May 9-11 at the Jimmie Austin OU Golf Club in Norman, Oklahoma. The University of Oklahoma will host.  The top eight teams and top two individuals not on the eight qualifying schools will advance to the NCAA Championship May 21-24 at Athens, Ga.

Campbell earned its 16th NCAA post-season berth under the guidance of head coach John Crooks.

As a team, the Camels led the nation in birdies (378 in 11 events), while four of CU's players rank among the nation's top 250 in the Golfstat Cup. Lisbeth Brooks stands 94th in the Golfstat Cup with a 74.27 scoring average, while Teresa Urquizu (75.12) and Brooke Bellomy are tied for No.-164. Big South freshman of the year Tahnia Ravnjak (75.57) is 213th.

Brooks, Urquizu, Bellomy, Ravnjak and Kaylin Yost all were named to the Big South all-conference team, while Ravnjak earned a spot on the Big South all-championship team by finishing in a tie for fourth.

Hall of Fame head coach John Crooks has guided his women to 11 conference titles and nine runner-up finishes in 22 years, including a second-place showing earlier this month at the Big South Championship. The 2013 Big South coach of the year, Crooks ranks fourth all-time and second among active Division I head coaches with 70 career tournament victories.

1. Duke (Atlantic Coast Conference) 1. Fanny Cnops, UNC-Greensboro
2. Oklahoma 2. Lori Beth Adams, UNC-Wilmington
3. Florida 3. Emma Henrikson, San Diego State
4. Washington 4. Julia Roth, Central Arkansas
5. Arizona State 5. Paige Spiranic, San Diego State
6. UC Davis (Big West Conference) 6. Christine Wong, San Diego State
7. Texas Tech  
8. North Carolina State  
9. Michigan State  
10. Iowa State  
11. Southern Methodist  
12. Campbell  
13. Coastal Carolina (Big South Conference)  
14. Wake Forest  
15. TCU  
16. Gonzaga  
17. Indiana  
18. UTSA  
19. Mississippi State  
20. Wisconsin  
21. Lamar (Southland Conference)  
22. Illinois State (Missouri Valley Conference)  
23. Detroit (Horizon League)  
24. Butler (Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference)