Campbell Women’s Golf Conference Championship history by the numbers

John Crooks
John Crooks (

Follow Campbell Women's Golf: Twitter | Instagram | Facebook

With the 2017 Big South Conference Championship starting Monday at The Patriot at Grand Harbor in Ninety Six, S.C., here is a look at Campbell's women's golf conference tournament history… by the numbers.

6045    yardage for the Davis Love III-designed, par-72 The Patriot Golf Club at Grand Harbor in Ninety Six, S.C., site of the 2017 Big South Conference Championship, Apr. 17-19.

864      Big South Conference Championship 54-hole record score (278-289-297) recorded by Campbell at The Patriot in 2014 when the Camels won the title by 30 strokes over runner-up Coastal Carolina.

567      Big South Conference and school record 36-hole total set by the Camels over the first two rounds of the 2014 league tournament.

323      Birdies recorded by Campbell golfers through 26 rounds in 2016-17, tied for the 23rd-highest total in the nation.

284      Campbell's low 18-hole team score in 2016-17 – set at the Briar's Creek Invitational (Mar. 20).

278      Big South and school single round record set by the Camels in the opening round of the 2014 Big South Championship.

213      Lowest 54-hole individual total in Big South history set by then freshman Louise Latorre (68-73-72) in winning the 2014 league championship by one stroke over teammate Tahnia Ravnjak (72-69-73—214).

212      School-record for lowest 54-hole total in a conference tournament set by Alejandra Shaw (72-69-70) in the 2007 Atlantic Sun Championship at Keith Hills GC.

210      School 54-hole record score (70-71-69) on a par-72 course set by Annelie Sjoholm in winning the Amelia Island Collegiate (Feb. 20-21, 2017) at the par-72 Amelia National GC in Fernandina Beach, Fla.

207      School 54-hole record score (70-67-70) set by Nadine White in winning the Golfweek Program Challenge (Sept. 6-8, 2015) at the par-71 Caledonia Golf & Fish Club in Pawley's Island, S.C.

160      Senior Nadine White stands No.-160 in the country in the Golfstat Cup and owns the 2nd-lowest stroke average (73.92) in the Big South Conference.

137      School 36-hole record (70-67) set by Nadine White over the first two rounds of the Golfweek Program Challenge.

84        Birdies recorded by Annelie Sjoholm over 26 rounds, tied for 27th in the nation.

80        All-time women's tournament team titles won by Coach John Crooks' teams in 26 years as head coach at Campbell University.  Coach Crooks stands 2nd among active NCAA Division I coaches in tournament wins and fourth all-time.

75        All-time top-10 finishes for Campbell women's golfers in Big South (1990-94, 2012-2016) and Atlantic Sun (1995-2011) Conference Championship tournaments.

73.46   Big South-leading stroke average for junior Annelie Sjoholm, who ranks No.-116 nationally in the Golfstat Cup.

68        Career low round set by eventual medalist Louise Latorre on the first day of the 2014 Big South Conference Championship at The Patriot GC in Ninety-Six, S.C.

63        All-time individual tournament wins by Campbell women's golfers, including Nadine White's 2016 Big South Championship and Annelie Sjoholm's victory at the 2017 Amelia Island Collegiate.

50        Campbell's national ranking, according to Golfstat, giving the Camels the No.-1 seed in the 2017 Big South Conference Championship.

25-23   In 25 seasons under the direction of head coach John Crooks, Campbell has finished either first (13) or second (10) in its conference tournament 23 times.

25        Campbell has registered at least one tournament title in 25 of its 26 seasons under the guidance of head coach John Crooks.  The only year Campbell did not win at least one tournament crown during Crooks' tenure was 2010-11 when the Camels had two runner-up finishes, including one at the Atlantic Sun championship.

20        Campbell's Desiree Andersson and Stacey White rate 20th in the nation in Golfstat's Freshman Impact ranking with a combined stroke average of 75.84.

19        times Campbell has earned an NCAA post-season invitation as either an individual (2) or team (17) over the previous 24 seasons.  The Big South Champion earns the league's automatic berth to one of four NCAA Regionals, which will be held May 8-10 in Athens, Ga., Columbus, Ohio, Lubbock, Texas and Albuquerque, N.M.

13        Conference titles won by women's teams coached by John Crooks at Campbell University, including five Big South Championships (1993, 1994, 2012, 2014, 2016) and eight Atlantic Sun crowns.

11-2     Stacey White ranks 11th among Big South Conference stroke average leaders (76.05), the second-best among league freshmen.

10        Campbell women's golfers have won the conference individual championship 10 times, most recently in 2016 when Nadine White won the Big South Championship.  Campbell has won the Big South individual title four times (Janet Wooten in 1993, Jennifer Layman in 1994 and Louise Latorre in 2014). CU golfers claimed the Atlantic Sun individual crown six times in 17 years as a member of the league from 1995-2011 (Mara Larrauri in 1997 and 1998, Kylie Pratt in 1999, Sharon O'Neill in 2000 and Alejandra Shaw in 2006 and 2007).

10        Sophomore Anna Svanka stands 10th among the Big South Conference leaders in stroke average (75.94).

9:40     Campbell will start from The Patriot Golf Club's first tee Monday at 9:40 a.m., paired with Charleston Southern and Gardner-Webb.  Live scoring will be available at

9          Junior Ayelen Irizar stands 9th among the Big South Conference leaders in stroke average (75.69).

8-1       Freshman Desiree Andersson stands 8th among the Big South Conference stroke average leaders (75.65), 1st among all Big South freshmen.

8-8       In its last 8 years as a Big South member (1992-94 and 2012-16) Campbell has finished in the top two at the Big South Championship all eight times, including five titles (1993, 1994, 2014, 2014, 2016) and three runner-up showings.

5          times that Desiree Andersson has been named Big South women's golf freshman of the week in 2016-17.

4          times that Annelie Sjoholm has been named Big South women's golfer of the week in 2016-17.

2          Annelie Sjoholm finished second in the 2016 Big South Championship at DeBordieu GC in her league tournament debut.

1-2-3   Campbell golfers have finished 1-2-3 in their conference tournament three in the program's 28-year history – 2000 (Sharon O'Neill won the A-Sun title, while Laura Torrisi and Yvonne Cox tied for second), 2014 (Louise Latorre, Tahnia Ravnjak and Kaylin Yost swept the top three spots) and 2016 (Nadine White and Annelie Sjoholm finished 1-2 and Tahnia Ravnjak tied for 3rd).