Trio of Camels named to Big South women's lacrosse all-conference teams

Trio of Camels named to Big South women's lacrosse all-conference teams

CHARLOTTE, N.C. – Juniors Cloey Henchcliffe and Taelar Errington, in addition to freshman Loren Day, have been named to Big South All-Conference teams.

Henchcliffe was placed on the first team while Day made second-team all-conference. Errington was selected to the All-Academic squad.

"This is a team honor, just as much as it is an individual honor," head coach Phil Schuman said. "Cloey, Loren, and Taelar wouldn't have been as successful as they were without the team they had around them. But, I think it should be evident from this recognition that we're talking about three of the top players in the conference. We're proud of them, we're lucky that all three are coming back, and we expect all of them to make just as big of an impact next year."

Henchcliffe scored the third-most goals for the inaugural CU lacrosse team with 29 and added seven assists. She picked up the most ground balls of any Camel with 30 and also caused a team-high 30 turnovers. Her 2.42 goals per game was sixth in the conference. Henchcliffe was fourth in the Big South for both ground balls per game (2.50) and caused turnovers per game (1.42). 

Day led the Camels in five statistical categories this season: goals (35), assists (13), points (48), shots (74), and draw controls (27). Her 2.69 goals per game was fifth in the Big South and 3.69 points per game was sixth.

Errington, an Exercise and Sport Science major, was named to the All-Academic team, maintaining a 3.806 GPA this year. She netted 24 goals for Campbell this season and tacked on six assists. Defensively, she picked up 10 ground balls and 25 draw controls, while causing eight turnovers.

Davidson sophomore Emily Cooke (Woodstrock, Md.) and High Point defender Jasmine Jordan (Baltimore, Md.) have been voted the 2013 Big South Women's Lacrosse Offensive Player of the Year and Defensive Player of the Year, respectively, by the Conference's head coaches, it was announced this evening at a special awards banquet held on the campus of Davidson College.  Winthrop midfielder Shannon Gallagher (Silver Spring, Md.) was tabbed Freshman of the Year, while Davidson's Kim Wayne was voted Coach of the Year.  In addition, the Big South's sports information directors voted Coastal Carolina midfielder Lily Yednock (Columbus, Ohio) as the women's lacrosse Scholar-Athlete of the Year.
Cooke finished the regular-season as the Big South's leading scorer with a school-record 77 points -- which ranks fifth in the nation.  She is also tops with 4.81 points per game (ninth nationally) and was second in the League with 47 assists (fourth-most in Division I this season).  Cooke scored 30 goals this year and is the only Big South player with 30 goals and 40 assists.  In Big South games, Cooke contributed 14 goals and a League-high 26 assists, and she ranked first with 40 points in Conference contests.  She had eight games this season with at least three assists -- including a League-high and school-record 10 against Kennesaw State on Feb. 25.  She finished the KSU game with a school-record 11 points, tied for the most in a single-game in the Big South this season.  Cooke also had seven assists and eight points in Davidson's 11-9 win over High Point on April 12, and she recorded nine games with at least five points.
Jordan was a three-time Big South Defensive Player of the Week selection and ranks second in the League with a team-high 45 ground balls and 2.81 average.  She leads the Conference in caused turnovers per game with 1.75 -- good for 17th in the country.  Jordan also contributed 29 draw controls from her defender position to rank third on her squad.  In Conference games, she was first in the League with 23 ground balls and a 3.29 per game average -- the lone Big South player with more than 20 and 3.00 per game.  She was also second with 13 caused turnovers against Conference foes.  Jordan posted seven games with at least four ground balls and her five caused turnovers at American University on Feb. 24 tied for the most in the Big South this season.
Gallagher led the Big South and is fourth in the nation with 54 goals -- the lone Big South player to reach the 50-goal threshold this year.  Her 3.38 goals per game is the fifth-highest average in Division I while her 64 total points rank fourth in the League and 27th nationally.  Gallagher recorded 11 hat tricks this season -- including seven in succession, and scored a career-high seven goals and 10 points against Kennesaw State on March 15.  She tallied seven 5-point games this season, and contributed 20 ground balls, 33 draw controls and 21 caused turnovers for the first-year Eagle program.
Wayne led the Wildcats to their second 10-win season in program history as well as the outright Big South regular-season title and No. 1 seed in the inaugural Big South Women's Lacrosse Championship.  Her team posted a League-best 8.12 goals against average -- including 5.71 in Conference games, and finished the Big South slate with a perfect 7-0 record.  The Wildcats allowed five goals-or-less five times, including four Conference games, and the squad reeled off a school-record seven-game win streak March 23-April 14.  As a team, Davidson is ninth in the country in scoring defense and 14th in scoring margin (+4.69).
Yednock, a sophomore midfielder, is a 4.00 student studying graphic design.  She scored 11 goals and 16 points in 11 games this season, with team-highs of 37 ground balls and 30 caused turnovers.
The Conference also announced the 2013 All-Conference and All-Academic teams Thursday evening, which are listed below.  The All-Conference team is voted by the head coaches and features three attackers, five midfielders, three defenders, one goalkeeper and three at-large selections.  The All-Academic Team consists of one student-athlete from each institution that meets the criteria and is nominated and selected by the League's sports information directors.
FIRST-TEAM ALL-CONFERENCE                                         
ATT    Emily Cooke, Soph., Davidson
ATT    Mackenzie Carroll, Jr., High Point
ATT    Lauren Prasnicki, Jr., Longwood
MF      Alec Perry, Jr., High Point
MF      Jamie Brentlinger, Sr., Longwood
MF      Sara Kuhlman, Jr., High Point
MF      Shannon Gallagher, Fr., Winthrop
MF      Jen Freymond, Sr., Liberty
D         Jasmine Jordan, Jr., High Point
D         Abigail Doelger, Sr., Davidson
D         Kathleen Battle, Jr., Longwood
GK      Jessica Melby, Sr., Davidson
AL      Ann Fucigna, Jr., Davidson
AL      Emily Rademacher, Soph., Davidson
AL      Cloey Henchcliffe, Jr., Campbell
SECOND-TEAM ALL-CONFERENCE                                    
ATT    Loren Day, Fr., Campbell
ATT    Grace Gaeng, Sr., High Point
ATT    Megan Wallenhorst, Fr., Winthrop
MF      Alanna Parker, Sr., Davidson
MF      Lily Yednock, Soph., Coastal Carolina
MF      Nina Dunay, Jr., Liberty
MF      Mary Barondess, Jr., Longwood
MF      Jaime Beamish, Jr., Presbyterian College
D         Chloe McIntosh, Gr., Liberty
D         Paige Logan, Jr., Davidson
D         Alyssa Blevins, Soph., Winthrop
GK      Kristin Masullo, Jr., Liberty
AL      Hayley Krause, Fr., Winthrop
AL      Madeline Ciardi, Fr., Coastal Carolina
AL      Christie Dougherty, Jr., High Point
Taelar Errington, Jr., MF, Campbell
Lily Yednock, Soph., MF, Coastal Carolina
Abigail Doelger, Sr., D, Davidson
Jasmine Jordan, Jr., D, High Point
Chloe McIntosh, Gr., D, Liberty
Jamie Brentlinger, Sr., MF, Longwood
Melinda Vasconcellos, Sr., D, Presbyterian College
Mary Accomando, Soph., MF, Winthrop
Emily Cooke, Soph,, ATT, Davidson
Jasmine Jordan, Jr., D, High Point
Shannon Gallagher, MF, Winthrop
Kim Wayne, Davidson
Lily Yednock, Soph., MF, Coastal Carolina