Montoya Named to SoCon All-Freshman Team, Campbell Travels to SoCon Championship Saturday

(Bennett Scarborough photo)
(Bennett Scarborough photo)

SPARTANBURG, S.C. – Campbell's Eric Montoya was named to the Southern Conference All-Freshman team, announced the league Wednesday. He and the Camels will travel to Lexington Saturday for the SoCon Wrestling Championship hosted by VMI at 10 a.m.

Montoya finished the regular season at 125 pounds 31-13, going 6-1 in league action. He led the Camels with six pins and was the only CU wrestler ranked in the NCAA Coaches' Poll, finishing the regular season at No. 28 in his weight class. 

The announcement comes three days before SoCon Wrestling Championship action kicks off Saturday. Montoya and redshirt junior Nick Rex (157 pounds) are the highest seeds for CU, each holding the second spot for their respective weight classes. Full tournament seeds are listed below.

The SoCon will send at least one wrestler from each weight class on to the NCAA Championship, with two wrestlers from the 125, 141, and 165 pound classes getting automatic bids.


2013 Southern Conference Wrestling Championship Seeds

1. Nick Soto, Chattanooga
2. Eric Montoya, Campbell
3. Joaquin Marquez, The Citadel
4. Dominic Parisi, Appalachian State
5. Cortez Starks, Gardner-Webb
6. Armando Herrera-Dos Reis, VMI
7. Tyler Gilleland, SIUE
8. No entry, Davidson

1. Aaron Hansen, The Citadel
2. Brett  Boston, Appalachian State
3. Alex Ward, Chattanooga
4. Patrick Myers, SIUE
5. Andriy Onufriyenko, VMI
6. Robbie Golde, Gardner-Webb
7. Anthony Elias, Davidson
8. Tanner Bidelspach, Campbell

1. Ugi Khishignyam, The Citadel
2. Dean Pavlou, Chattanooga
3. Ryan Goodsell, VMI
4. Michael Dahlstrom, Campbell
5. Davante Andujar, Gardner-Webb
6. Matt Zarth, Davidson
7. Chris Johnson, Appalachian State
8. Dillon Pousson, SIUE

1. Alex Hudson, Chattanooga
2. Ryan Medved, Gardner-Webb
3. Zeb Stewart, VMI
4. Jordan Dix, The Citadel
5. Kevin Birmingham, Davidson
6. Zach Kechter, Appalachian State
7. Cory Wagner, Campbell
8. Brandon Brindley, SIUE

1. Matt Frisch, The Citadel
2. Nick Rex, Campbell
3. Alex Medved, Gardner-Webb
4. Trey Stavrum, Chattanooga
5. Ted Gottwald, VMI
6. Nathaniel Powers, Davidson
7. Kyle Lowman, SIUE
8. Collins Creech, Appalachian State

1. Josh Condon, Chattanooga
2. Zack Strickland, Appalachian State
3. Paul Duggan, Campbell
4. Justin Guthrie, Gardner-Webb
5. Mark Darr, VMI
6. Vincent Bellaran, The Citadel
7. Christopher Cirenza, Davidson
8. Adam Osmoe, SIUE

1. John Lampe, Chattanooga
2. Colin Hedash, Appalachian State
3. Jake Residori, SIUE
4. Jack Duane, The Citadel
5. Cody Ryba, Campbell
6. Hunter Gamble, Gardner-Webb
7. John Dommert, VMI
8. Ian Solcz, Davidson

1. Robert Prigmore, Chattanooga
2. Jake Johnson, Appalachian State
3. Josh Tuck, The Citadel
4. Gray Jones, Gardner-Webb
5. Conor Black, VMI
6. Scott Patrick, Davidson
7. James Cook, Campbell
8. Deshoun White, SIUE

1. Niko Brown, Chattanooga
2. Paul Weiss, Appalachian State
3. John Merickel, Campbell
4. Urayoan Garcia, VMI
5. Marshall Haas, The Citadel
6. Josh Wood, SIUE
7. Blake Salyer, Gardner-Webb
8. No entry, Davidson

1. Odie Delaney, The Citadel
2. Kevin Malone, Chattanooga
3. Travis Porter, Gardner-Webb
4. David Devine, SIUE
5. Joe Nolan, Campbell
6. Michael LaPrade, VMI
7. Joe Cummings, Appalachian State
8. Ed Isola, Davidson